STEP-Manufacturing Email List
[Join]  [Archives]

Minutes of Funchal Meeting February 20 and 23

Our STEP manufacturing team is now known officially as TC184/SC4 Wg3/T24.

Martin Hardwick is the team leader and the Japanese delegation has been asked to nominate a deputy team leader.

The following AP's will belong to the team

AP-238 is a tentative number for the CNC model. The actual number may differ if approval of the New Work Item is significantly delayed. The current plan is to submit the NWI proposal with a CD ballot document describing the mapping tables and AIM before the next SC4 meeting in San Francisco in June.

A presentation was given by Professor Suh on requirements for ISO 14649. There was general agreement with the suggestions given and the team encourages SC1/Wg7 to add solutions to these requirements to ISO 14649.

Mr. Glantschnig SC1/Wg7 convenor gave presentations on the ISO 14649 models for Turning and Wire EDM. An additional presentation on Sink EDM is included in the ZIP file, but there was insufficient time to give the presentation in the meeting. The following potential issues were identfied:

- The names used for the turning features have been designed to harmonize with current practice in industry and do not necessarily harmonize with the turning feature names used in AP-224.

- The Sink EDM model may not have sufficient value to justify standardization at the present time.

Len Slovensky gave a presentation on the differences between AP-224 and ISO 14649. During the presentation, the group identified several key differences in the encoding of "implict" parameters for the same feature in AP-224 and Part 10 of ISO 14649. For example an implicit definition for "rectangular pocket" that gives explicit definitions for the length and width of the rectangle that defines the pocket. Currently, ISO 14649 only allows a pocket to be defined by a geometric boundary.

SC1/Wg7 is strongly encouraged to resolve these differences by extending the definition of the features in Part 10 to include the "implicit" parameters given in AP-224. This is considered most important both because of the importance of allowing features to be shared between AP-224 and AP-228 and because in most cases the "implicit" definitions given in AP-224 will make implementation of AP-238 easier for NC vendors.

David Loffredo gave a presentation on the AIM for AP-238. This was a continuation of the presentation given in Charleston. The ARM model developed for 14649 has been divided into the following 9 units of functionality.

Mappings were demonstrated for each of the units including the Executable unit where it was demonstrated that all of the conditionals and cases allowed in the 14649 model can be mapped and it was remarked that the new constructs proposed by Professor Suh can also be mapped.

Jonas Norstrom gave a presentation on the Tool Model defined by ISO 13399. Some issues and concerns of TC 29 Wg34 were presented. An outline EXPRESS model was also shown. All present desired continuing cooperation between SC1/Wg7, SC4/Wg3/T24 and TC 29/Wg34 so that the models developed by the different groups will inter-operate.

If you wish to make any additions or corrections to these minutes please send e-mail to the undersigned. The Manufacturing Task Force shared meeting space with Wg3/T24 and will issue its own minutes.

Martin Hardwick
Team Leader Wg3/T24

Attendence List
Martin Hardwick STEP Tools USA
David Loffredo STEP Tools USA
Takeshi Isiishiaii Holckaido University Japan
Alan Crawford LSC UK
Carol Tierney General Dynamics USA
King Yee Boeing USA
Yoshiaki Ishikawa IHI Japan
Chiabi Sakamoto Komatsu Engineering Japan
Helium Mak NRC Canada
Suk-Hwan Suh NRL-SNT Postech Korea
Hee-Dang Hong NRL-SNT Postech Korea
Sang U Cheon NRL-SNT Postech Korea
Tashiyuko Shirabe ECOM Japan
Seishiro Takeuchi ECOM Japan
Martin Jones Ausdec Australia
Jonas Nordstrom AB Sandvik Coromant Sweden
Friedrich Glantschnig AMT Switzerland
Olof Nuquist KTH Sweden
Takamasa Tanaka Nissan Japan
Johan Nielsen KTH Sweden
Mike Barter MoD UK
Meinolf Gropper VDMA Germany
Tom Kramer NIST USA
Fred Proctor NIST USA
Len Slovensky Team SCRA USA